Belt Grading

Grading Belts

Rank Colour Duration 

What does it mean

Significance of ranking system


Required attendance


ShinKenDo has a grading system that allows all students to proceed through levels, or grades, signifying their growth and development.

The coloured belt gradings are like stepping stones on the path to a student’s goal of Black belt. A grading represents that a student has reached a competent level with their current techniques and are ready to move on to learn and develop more advanced techniques and skill-sets.
Students are expected to progress at a pace commensurate with their ability and desire, and in general will take a grading exam every three months. During those three months, class attendance is monitored and students are expected to attend a minimum of 21 classes.

White belt

As you may already know, beginners would start with the white belt and as they continue they practice, they would progress to yellow, orange, green/ blue to brown (red and purple in some disciplines) before receiving the highest rank, the black belt. Gaining a color change in belts does not come automatically – usually it takes about four years of committed practice to go from white to black belt.  Students can attain a blackbelt grade however in a shorter period depending on the amount of practice per week.

Grade Duration

Yellow belt


The first or second belt in most martial arts schools is the yellow belt. Advancement requirements vary between schools, but typically you must demonstrate proficiency at basic techniques before earning this rank. Basic stances, punches, blocks, kicks, self-defense techniques  are usually included on a yellow belt test

Green Belt


The green belt is the 2nd belt. It can take up to 6 month to earn this belt, depending on your attendance and learning pace. The green belt is also the first level where you begin to focus more on restraints.

Blue Belt


The blue belt is the 3rdl belt in  ShinKenDo You will continue to improve upon the skills you learned as a green belt, such as more advanced throws, escapes and engaging your opponent.

Red Belt


The red  belt is the stage between intermediate and advanced. It typically takes several years for someone with no martial arts training to advance from white to red. At this stage students begin to engage into self defence skills by sparring (fighting practice) against each other. 

Brown Belt


The brown belt at this level, you  can demonstrate a variety of difficult techniques while utilising the utmost control.  Red to brown takes 6 months  can take up to 3 years to attain a brown belt from white belt depending on the individual's commitment to practice .

Brown Black Tag


Brown / Black tag is graded to a student meaning an accomplishment exceeding over half the time to Black Belt. Students remains on this grade for a further 9 to 12 months. He / she demonstrates a variety of techniques white utilising the utmost use of control.

Black Belt


Black Belt 1st Dan 'shodan'

The black belt is the highest rank as a beginner and the first belt as a Senior.

Someone who possesses a black belt is considered an expert.  The time it takes to earn a black belt depends on the school.
Some schools are less strict and it is feasible you could be in a black belt in a few years if you work hard enough.
On average in takes 4 to 5 years to earn a black belt in most schools.

But it could take you up to 6 or 7  years to earn a black belt at a school that is stricter.

ShinKen-Do students earn a black belt on a twice weekly training basis in 3 to 4 years

Dan Grades

A Black Belt is seen as the beginning of your training.

A dan-ranked practitioner of a style is usually recognized as a martial artist who has surpassed the 'kyū', or basic, ranks. They may also become a licensed instructor in their art. In many styles, however, achieving a dan rank means that, while one is no longer considered a beginner, one is not yet necessarily an expert. 

Lower dan grades are normally attained through a grading examination. The higher dan grades usually require years of experience and contribution to the relevant martial art.
These grades can only be awarded by a higher-graded representative of the principal dojo or sometimes by a steering committee.

Ranking systems are specific to the school or style, so ranks do not necessarily translate across different martial arts styles.
The highest belt rank in ShinKen-Do is 8th Dan

1st Dan (Shodan)
2nd Dan  (Nidan)
3rd Dan Sandan
4th Dan (Yondan)

5th Dan (Godan)

6th Dan (rokudan)

7th Dan (ShichiDan)

8th Dan (HachiDan)  

9th Dan (Kudan)

10th Dan (Juan)


Grading Pass


Each student who grades and passes receives a certificate for their grade.

This certificate is kept as proof of grade, training duration.
Grades are not recognised with a valid Organisation certificate.

view Grading Rulse & Regulation